top of page
  • Writer's pictureRosalie

MY HEART'S PRAYER

Updated: Jul 10, 2020

This Blog entry is to share the progress on our little cottage, but even more than that, it's to share the most amazing answer to prayer — more details of that moment in the Blog post for those who would love to know the details. Yes! There is a God.

Yes I am human and even though I have a deep and sincere trust in God’s leading in my life, I still find myself struggling from time to time. You know, those times when you need to be reminded that God has never left you or forsaken you. This was one of those moments.


I had just begun my Blog Reno called Fiddle Leaf NEST and had shared it on Facebook the day before. Many souls were excited for us and thoroughly enjoyed seeing what we were doing and the potential we could see in this little heritage listed cottage. I had received heaps of affirming comments and many souls shared their confidence in our creative abilities, which was kind of nice. However, in the midst of all this, I managed to lose my way. Overwhelmed with my lot in a cottage that was 160 years old, desperately needing a Reno and a husband who recently had a stroke and was definitely not firing on all cylinders. What if….! What if…..!


I woke early one morning and I was feeling so incredibly overwhelmed and I couldn’t see the wood from the trees. Everything seemed impossible and daunting! You know — hopeless! Dark and dismal with no way out! I began talking to God and sharing my heart with Him, a bit like a child, clutching at the hem of His garment and wanting to hide in the folds, where I felt safe and protected. I told Him how I was feeling and how I didn’t know how on earth I could possible turn this chaos into something beautiful by myself, with Carl struggling with his post-stroke deficits. In the midst of my prayer, my phone beeped, alerting me that I had a message.


Hold that thought…..


When my beautiful boy Shayne was in primary school, he had a close mate called Chad and they got up to all sorts of shenanigans, most of all, developed a wonderful rich mate-ship that remained until Shayne died at 26 years of age and Chad shared his heart and some of those treasured memories at Shayne’s funeral. Touching!

About seven years ago, I got a call from a friend, telling me that she had some sad news and that Chad had died from cancer and his funeral would be in Newcastle a few days later. I was so shocked as I had lost contact with the family after Shayne’s death. I went to Chad’s funeral and struggled immensely. I hugged Chad’s Mum and left soon after in tears. Too sad! After Chad’s funeral, his Mum Grace and I reconnected and we became ‘friends’ on Facebook and found solace in sharing our grief journey from time to time in private messages on Facebook. It’s a tough gig burying your child. Grace has a firm grip on Jesus and we both know we will see our boys again one day soon - very soon. What a day…..!


Now back to the morning when I was lying in bed feeling overwhelmed….. with my mobile giving me a message alert…


I finished sharing my heart with God in my heartfelt prayer and picked up my mobile and this is what I read….


“Hi Rosalie, it’s Gracie here, Phil and I just noticed (on Facebook) the house your are fixing up. Did you know my Phil is a retired builder with many skills at renovating? When he saw your project, he was excited and said that he would love to give you both a hand if you would like! This is a love job, no payment required, so if you would like, and there is no pressure, let us know. I’m pretty handy too and we have big trailer! Love Gracie.”


I just wept and then wept some more. I woke Carl up and shared the story with him and then he also wept. We held each other in tears and thanked God for His care for us. I said to Carl, “Even if these people never come to help, that’s OK — for me, the most precious thing was that, in this moment of distress, my God reminded me that He had everything sorted and reassured me that I need not worry about anything - He’s got it covered!” Wow!!!


COVID19 kicked in, which meant all things stood still for a short while, but within a few weeks, Phil (who I didn’t even know), drove up the highway 3.5 hours north, towing his tradie trailer to help us out. He stayed a few days on that occasion before returning to his home and has now been back a few more times to help. He said, “Rosalie… I believe in tithe, and I like to give the Lord some of my time in tithe as well and I feel sooo blessed to be here, it is more blessed to give than to receive.” I just wept again. God is a good God.


Thank you Prince Phil — your kindness and good grace will never be forgotten. Bless you!!

Phil set about creating an ensuite, walk-in wardrobe and powder room in the space that was called the second bedroom. A true labour of love.

These original, VERY hard red mahogany tongue and grooved vertical rough sawn boards needed to have two doorways cut through them from the bedroom to the wardrobe and the ensuite. Check out the grit and determination on Phil's face in these pics. He had never come across such hard timber. They did things good in the old days.





Coming together nicely. Please notice the BEFORE pic of the second bedroom. Hmmmm!!!

Every morning around 10.30am Phil always liked to have a cup of coffee. The first day he was here, I asked Blaise to bring him one from their place as they have a real deal coffee machine. The next day on the dot, without anyone even requesting it, Blaise turned up with Phil's coffee and had ridden his bike home to get it and delivered it right on time. Bless him. Phil was soooo touched by his thoughtfulness - so was Pa Pa I reckon. Rather touching moment.

Just a little reminder of what the place was like when we first got the keys. Click on the following link. https://piccolorose.wixsite.com/nest/post/day-one-and-the-gloves-are-on

331 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Комментарии


bottom of page